Opportunities in Europe

European Calls

EU Prize for Women Innovators

Horizon 2020-SWFS-Prize-2019
Three prizes of €100,000 each for the Women Innovators category and €50,000 for the Rising Innovator category.

This award scheme recognises the role of women in bringing about game-changing innovations to market honouring the outstanding achievements of women running innovative companies.


It will be awarded to up to four women innovators in total (three women and one young woman innovator, so-called 'rising innovator') who have created the largest impact on the innovation ecosystem by transforming ideas into new and advanced products and/or services for the benefit and wealth of the European citizens.


Eligible applications will be evaluated by an independent jury of experts. The prize will be awarded, after closure of the contest, to the contestants who in the opinion of the jury best address the following cumulative criteria:

1. Breakthrough Innovation – the company funded/co-funded by the contestant provides cutting edge product or service. 

2. Impact – the cutting edge product or service brings major benefits to citizens and society and the economy, and addresses a societal challenge. 

3. Inspiration – the contestant has shown active leadership and her role has influenced the success of the company. 


Applications must be submitted by the participants via the Participant Portal 'Submission Service', accessible via the call page. In case of questions, please contact the Research Enquiry Service or contact us via email to rtd-womeninnovators@ec.europa.eu


The deadline for submitting applications is January the 16th 2019.


The jury evaluation is planned to take place between January 2019 and May 2019.


This activity directly aimed at supporting the development and implementation of evidence base for R&I policies and supporting various groups of stakeholders is excluded from the delegation to REA and will be managed by the Commission services.
Elegibilility of the applicants: 
1. The participant must be a woman. For the Rising Innovator Award, the contestant must be a woman born as of 1 January 1984. 2. The participant must be an ordinary resident in an EU Member State or a country associated to Horizon 2020. 3. The participant must be the founder or co-founder of an existing and active innovative company which was registered before 1 January 2017.